Reader Reviews

4 Ratings
Avg - 3.8
Battle of the Beasts (MM) by Jane Perky (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc.)
$3.50
Categories: Alternative (M/M, Gay), Paranormal, Romantic Suspense

This reviewer's rating: 3 - Average

This is the second book in the series. One of the great things about a series is once you get through the initial world-building and character introductions the author can build upon your familiarity with it. Jax and Will have a "reunion" love story, it's a second chance for them to find romance. This my favorite sort of romance, and so I was looking forward to this book. There wasn't much angst about it all. I think I would have liked a bit more of Jax having to earn back Will. My biggest issue continues to be typos and poor editing/proofreading. I found more than one example of correctly spelled words (so someone did use spell-check) but not the right word for the sentence. The worst is when it's one of the character's names! Ugh--someone should be reading these before they go to press, just sayin'. I will buy the next one in the series because I did enjoy it and I am looking forward to reading about the other brothers finding their mates! BUY

Reviewed by: Paisley (Date: 05/21/2018)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 1 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Battle of the Beasts (MM)
See all MER reviews for this author: Jane Perky



5 Ratings
Avg - 4.4

It’s good to return to Emerald Valley and its unique wolf pack and vampire coven. Along with the five alphas who left many years ago but returned for vengeance against the murderer of their slain friend. At the end of Lee and Magnus’s story they had found and eliminated Eduardo, Magnus’s evil brother, and also liberated his blood slaves including Jerry, whom Lee had been searching for for a long time. Jerry’s older brother, Rob, was Lee’s best friend and when he died Lee took it upon himself to become Jerry’s adoptive older brother. Jerry had been kept as a blood slave by Eduardo and endured a hellish nightmare no one should ever endure. “Back in his cell, he’d been certain he wanted freedom, to live again, and yet he didn’t understand what he’d been asking for. “I didn’t know living could be so hard,” he whispered.” Even three months after his rescue, Jerry struggles with fear, nightmares, panic attacks, and he just wants to fly under the radar and not have anyone notice him. Unfortunately, the members of the wolf pack can still smell he was food for a vampire and most of them look at him with disgust. They don’t dare physically harm him or Lee, Magnus, and Lee’s alpha friends would be on them, but words can often be far more hurtful. Jerry knows he’s broken and that no one will ever want him. Colton is one of the five alphas who returned to Emerald Valley with Crash, Lee, Dante, and Atlas, and helped to get revenge on the old beta of the wolf pack who murdered Larry, their friend. When Colton first left town he enrolled in the Army where he eventually was placed into a shifter special ops unit. He has his own share of PTSD related trauma and issues, so when he meets Jerry, a part of him understands where the little omega is coming from. Colton’s wolf whispers “mate” but Colton shies away from that. As far as he’s concerned anyone he gets involved with just ends up hurt or dying. As much as I did enjoy Jerry and Colton’s romance, there were a few things that didn’t work well for me. The insta-lust was fine as they are shifters but the insta-love came as a surprise considering what each shifter had endured in their life. It came across as unrealistic, in my opinion, and there were several inconsistencies that I had difficulty with. However, the romance was very sweet and I liked seeing both men get the happiness and love they each deserved. BUY

Reviewed by: Christy Duke (Date: 01/25/2018)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 197 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: To Protect and Mate (MM)
See all MER reviews for this author: Jane Perky



5 Ratings
Avg - 4.4

It is with a little wistfulness that I began this fifth and final installment in the ‘Wolves of Emerald Valley’ series. I have enjoyed reading about each man finding his mate and the mates have all been well written characters. Dante is the last and I noticed differences in him during the previous novella so I was looking forward to his own happy ending. I wanted to see all of these wolves, and vampires, safe, happy, healthy, and maybe get some resolution to the problem of the current wolf pack alpha not able to handle his role or his pack. I didn’t blame Six at all for sneaking out of the compound (told me everything I needed to know about his birth pack) and heading to a bar for a drink and to find someone to lose his virginity to. He certainly didn’t want to give it to Spike, his alpha’s brother, who is to be his mate. Spike is mean and vicious. Six can’t believe his luck when he meets Dante at the bar. Dante is in town tying up some business he had with Randall, alpha of the Ridgeback pack. Six’s pack. Dante is well aware of, and completely disagrees with, the way Randall deals with the omegas in his pack. Dante is ridiculously attracted (as is his wolf) to Six and he gives the omega a night they both can remember. Two weeks later Dante is miserable missing Six and wondering how he can sneak into the compound when Six shows up. Pregnant and exiled from his pack for having broken his mating contract by having sex outside of their pack and his intended mate, Six is thrilled when Dante welcomes him and his pregnancy. Of course, it’s too easy to think that Spike won’t still hunt Six down for revenge but I’m pretty sure Dante can take that guy. I really would have liked more backstory on both of these main characters and fewer editing errors. However, Six is very sweet and Dante gladly stepped up to the plate, so I was rooting for them to make it. The drama involving Spike was very anti-climactic and I was a little disappointed with that. All in all, though, book five finished out the series very well, and even though there were things in each novella I wasn’t thrilled with, I’m glad I read this series because I definitely liked the characters. BUY

Reviewed by: Christy Duke (Date: 01/25/2018)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 197 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Taming His Wild Heart (MM)
See all MER reviews for this author: Jane Perky



13 Ratings
Avg - 3.9

I'm so happy that this second installment in the ‘Wolves of Emerald Valley’ series focuses on Atlas. He is one of the five alpha wolves who left their hometown years ago - leaving it to be taken over by a corrupt pack - and Atlas also left his mate, his omega, Larry. They continued to meet in secret twice a year, even though Larry had chosen to be with an enforcer for the Lunar Fire pack that had overtaken Emerald Valley, but it has been a year since Larry was murdered, and Crash, Atlas, Colton, Dante, and Lee returned to their hometown. Since Crash and the guys helped Blake, alpha of the Lunar Fire pack, consolidate his power, and defeat Luka, his former beta, Blake and a vampire coven keep the peace in Emerald Valley. When Joe finds Royce cheating on him, he decides it's finally time for him to leave the pack and strike out on his own. Joe has been told by a pack doctor that he is defective and will never carry strong alpha pups. *eye roll* Joe is incredibly lucky to have Atlas come to his rescue when Joe’s car breaks down one mile before the town limits. “The last time Atlas handed his heart on a platter to a man he thought he loved, Larry spat on it. Comparing Joe to Larry was pointless though. Joe was so open, and eager to give, whereas with Larry, Atlas had to rely on scraps.” It was wonderful to see Joe really open up and show his true personality without being in his brother’s shadow. Joe took to the job of organizing Atlas’s office like a champ and the two men slowly got to know one another. Joe was afraid of giving his heart to the big alpha because what if it was rejected? Atlas wasn't used to an omega like Joe and he was afraid it was all too good to be true. Oh, what a delightful addition to the series! I loved watching Joe come into his own and find his true mate, and I loved seeing Atlas finally find his omega who is honest and loving with him! They both needed each other and I adored being on this journey with them! BUY

Reviewed by: Christy Duke (Date: 07/13/2017)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 197 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: His Omega to Keep (MM)
See all MER reviews for this author: Jane Perky



6 Ratings
Avg - 4.2

Oh wow. I've really been interested in reading Lee and Magnus’s story ever since Magnus was introduced as the head of the vampire coven that Lee called upon when Blake needed help consolidating his power within his pack. There were a lot of sexual undertones between Lee and Magnus, so I was pretty sure there was more to their story than I had heard. Interspecies relationships are uncommon in this world but they do occur, and the way Lee’s wolf has always responded to Magnus can only mean one thing. Mate. But Lee refuses to believe it, or even contemplate it. Magnus has known Lee is his mate ever since he met him five years ago when they made their pact. Their pact that they would track down Magnus’s sadistic older brother, Eduardo, kill him, and liberate from being Eduardo’s blood slave a young man Lee considers his brother. It has taken five years to finally locate Eduardo and it is time for Magnus to take what he wants from Lee. I liked watching Lee and Magnus figure out a way to have a relationship when they're different in so many ways. It wasn't easy, no doubt about it. Lee has an inherent distrust of vampires and certainly can't imagine one feeding from him. Whereas for Magnus, a lover who is willing to let him feed from them, shows an incredible amount of trust. This is just one of the issues they had to work on. I struggled, again, with quite a few editing errors and I continue to hope that those will be addressed in future novellas. However, overall, I did enjoy this addition to the series. BUY

Reviewed by: Christy Duke (Date: 07/13/2017)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 197 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: His Forbidden Alpha (MM)
See all MER reviews for this author: Jane Perky



13 Ratings
Avg - 4.5

"The six of them, Lee, Dante, Colton, Atlas, Larry, and he had made a pact a decade ago to leave bumfuck heaven behind and move on to better things. Larry stayed, but Crash never did really move on." I love nothing more than a brand-new alpha/omega shifter series. The blurb for 'Crash and Burn' really appealed to me and I wanted to know why these guys made this pact, why their friendship ended up being nothing more than some infrequent emails in the ten years since they left, and especially why Larry, their omega, stayed, and who murdered him. I figured I had at least five books to look forward to and that always makes me happy. Crash hit a lot of my buttons right from the start. He's big, snarly, is an illegal MMA cage fighter, and has bad boy written all over him. Except, he's still not over Mark, the omega who broke his heart and sent him running away from Emerald Valley years before. Crash is intense, brooding, loves too much, too deeply, and takes everything too seriously. I was prepared to not like Mark, but that didn't last long. Mark said what he said all those years ago, knowing Crash would run, because Mark felt betrayed. When Crash presented him with wedding rings, Mark was ecstatic, until he realized that Crash had no intention of staying in their hometown and helping to care for it. After the five left, the Lunar Fire pack moved in and claimed the territory, and nothing has been the same since. "He swore to himself that if Crash ever decided to show his face back in town, he had a whole lot of things to say to the Alpha who’d left him and the entire town to the mercy of outsiders." The Lunar Fire pack takes what they want, are vicious with no morals, and they pass their omegas around to be bred and to take care of them. Mark has seen the empty eyes of those omegas, and Larry had, too. Larry tried to run away once, and was black and blue for a month afterward. I really despised Luka, beta of the Lunar Fire pack, and intended mate to Mark. Luka is a viper, plain and simple, running the show behind the scenes while Blake, the alpha, is just a figurehead. Luka is beyond cruel and he scared me as much as he scared Mark. I very much enjoyed the story and the ending. I had a few issues with editing problems and the flow of the story. There were instances where something occurred, not on the page, and I was left guessing as to the how, what, when, and where. However, I liked seeing Crash and Mark finally end up together, and I definitely think there's a lot of promise in the idea of, at the very least, four more books. I'll be looking forward to them. BUY

Reviewed by: Christy Duke (Date: 06/14/2017)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 197 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Crash and Burn (MM)
See all MER reviews for this author: Jane Perky



11 Ratings
Avg - 4.7
Lucky's Strike (MM) by Jane Perky (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc.)
$2.99
Categories: Alternative (M/M, Gay), Contemporary, Paranormal, Shape-shifter, Vampires/Werewolves

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

???? ???? ???????? ???? This is 8th book in the Blue Moon Wolves series. Lucky is a were-bear and had to always fight his way in the pack. When he smell something good in the woods and finds a wolf running away. River has always had a hard time of follow instruction. What will happen with a wolf and bear both running away from things? Can they make there mating work or will Lucky Alpha/Father stand in the way? Recommend this book BUY

Reviewed by: virginia lee (Date: 01/17/2017)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 111 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Lucky's Strike (MM)
See all MER reviews for this author: Jane Perky



28 Ratings
Avg - 3.9
Mated by Chance (MM) by Jane Perky (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc.)
$3.50
Categories: Alternative (M/M, Gay), Paranormal, Vampires/Werewolves

This reviewer's rating: 4 - Good

After all of the heavy stories that I have read recently, I needed a trope I loved, with hot shifters, a snarky omega, and an mpreg. Truly, nothing makes me happier than to just sink into sexy, hot fun with a little drama and a happy ever after. The fact that I snatched this book before my dear friend could only makes me happier. Jane Perky is a new-to-me author, and I'm excited about this new series. In the 'Blue Moon Wolves' series, the author has built a world where shifters and humans have come to terms with each other after the war that ended fifty years ago. Of course, there's always the bad seeds on both parts. Y'all know I'm a softy for the underdog, or in this case, the undercat, right? Conner is running from an abusive ex who just wants to use him to breed. He's chosen Blue Moon because it has a strong wolf pack, and he's hoping it will keep Randy from following him. The very first night Conner meets Hayden, the alpha, the sparks fly. Hayden can't understand what kind of idiot would let his pregnant, unclaimed mate wander around. It doesn't matter, because Hayden is determined to get his kitty. "Worse, it wasn’t Conner’s body he fantasized about, but something more. All that sass couldn’t come from nothing. He hungered to know Conner’s story, his past, his likes, and dislikes. God help Hayden, but he wanted too much when he shouldn’t." Not everyone in Hayden's pack is thrilled that his mate is a pregnant tabby shifter, but Hayden couldn’t care less. When his beta challenges him, Hayden refuses to back down, and is forced to take action. Too many other shifter groups want to overtake Blue Moon, and Hayden isn't about to let that happen. Of course, before all of that happens, Hayden has to deal with Randy kidnapping his mate, and the wolf who betrayed the pack, and told Randy where to find Conner. An absolutely adorable start to a new series. I really hope more books will follow, and quickly. I'm curious to see what more can happen in Blue Moon. BUY

Reviewed by: Christy Duke (Date: 03/24/2016)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 197 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

3 out of 3 users found this review helpful.


See all MER reviews for this title: Mated by Chance (MM)
See all MER reviews for this author: Jane Perky