"

Reviews for McKinlay Thomson

Reader Reviews

21 Ratings
Avg - 4.29
Foul Play (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$5.5
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Western/Cowboys

This reviewer's rating: 2 - Fair

I found Foul Play on BookStrand’s Time Machine and could have sworn I had read it somewhere before and I very well may have because the story was vaguely familiar. I was also very curious because of the title, Foul Play, which I thought about a lot as I ready the story. I could not fathom why this title was chosen. Yes, there was some foul play involved in why Sarah landed in Merricks, Montana but it is not the entire theme of the story. A title should give the reader a hint into the them of the story and this title did not. It is not an action book unless you count all the sex, which was steamy, on the back half of the book. The story line it self starts out really engrossing, I couldn’t put it down and caused a late night and rough morning at work. But once Sarah hit Merricks, Montana it became all about the sex with a few short pauses for effect. Once the raging libidos took over the story was basically over and I got tired of chapter after chapter having a sex scene in it somewhere and the story line getting lost until the end. Please don’t get me wrong, sex is fun and reading about it isn’t bad either but this story became more of an equivalent to a porn movie for a while. Rating this story was rather tough because the parts of Foul Play that were the actually story line were pretty amazing and like I said earlier engrossing but then the sex, though steamy, just took over most of the second half of the story. I kept wondering if the author just could not find a way to maintain the drama of the beginning of the book so she used sex a filler to kill time and extend the life of the story. Maybe I am being to critical of the lack of continuity through the whole story, I don’t know, guess we will see because you never know I may read it again and have a different opinion later. This review posting contains the body of the review Happy Reading From Laura Lu's Book Reviews

Reviewed by: daffygirl (Date: 07/21/2019)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 22 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Foul Play (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



4 Ratings
Avg - 4.50
Mating Maisie (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$4.5
Categories: Menage a Trois/Quatre, Paranormal, Shape-shifter

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

Hot, sexy and sweet! Great book.

Reviewed by: rhondavb (Date: 11/10/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 972 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Mating Maisie (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



4 Ratings
Avg - 4.50
Mating Maisie (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$4.5
Categories: Menage a Trois/Quatre, Paranormal, Shape-shifter

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

A great book and loved the characters

Reviewed by: Jlg29 (Date: 11/05/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 615 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Mating Maisie (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



11 Ratings
Avg - 4.64
Just a Taste (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$4.99
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

Awesome new installment! McKinlay Thomson is on fire for this one!

Reviewed by: Merryll (Date: 09/29/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 5 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Just a Taste (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



3 Ratings
Avg - 4.33
The Great Australian Bite (MF) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$4.5
Categories: Contemporary, Paranormal, Vampires/Werewolves

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

Best Aussies based paranormal vamp book ever! So Australian and so funny!

Reviewed by: Merryll (Date: 09/29/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 5 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: The Great Australian Bite (MF)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



4 Ratings
Avg - 4.75
The Magic of Us (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$4.99
Categories: Fantasy, Historical, Menage a Trois/Quatre

This reviewer's rating: 4 - Good

Good book. THE GOOD: I liked this better than book 1 of the series because the plot was more complex. As another reviewer mentioned, Fearghas was definitely cruel and there were times I was a taken aback by this treatment of Elise. But in some ways I also understood it. Partly because of his past, but moreso becauseas King, he had to treat Elise a certain way. I was conflicted about it but I liked that the author mixed it up a little and made the story hard. Plus, there was always Eonan, who was wonderfully steady and caring to Elise. THE BAD: As in Book 1, all the characters sounded the same. The heroes spoke in very modern ways despite the setting being medieval. Again, I don't want Old English, but no way should Fearghas sould like 21st century Elise. Seemed a bit lazy on the author's part. Also, given Fearghas' horrible treatment of Elise, I thought she too easily forgave him and was accepting of him. Her love for him after everything that happened seemed WAY too fast and a little unbelievable. Finally, I found quite a few spelling errors, instances where the wrong person's name is used, etc. The editing needed to be better. Still, at the end of the day, I did like the book and hope there is a Book 3---which looks like it would revolve around Baen's sister and Camran.

Reviewed by: SoCalReader (Date: 09/14/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 274 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: The Magic of Us (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



11 Ratings
Avg - 4.18
The Magic of You (MMF) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$5.5
Categories: Contemporary, Fantasy, Menage a Trois/Quatre

This reviewer's rating: 3 - Average

Pretty good book. I'd give it 3.5 if that were possible. THE GOOD: I loved King Baen and his consort Carr. The were HOT and deeply in love. I liked Jessica, but I didn't feel like I got to know her character much. I liked the world Baen and Carr lived in (Marek)---this realm of dragons and magic. THE BAD: The fact that Marek was set in medieval times, yet so much of Baen and Carr's language was not. Of course I wasn't expecting Old English, but it was jarring to keep reading the men using current terms and not finding Jessica's expressions strange. That the author just ignored this was disappointing. Also the fact that Jessica was so easily accepting of being stuck in another realm. She paid lip service to finding a way home but did nothing to really try to make it happen. She was attracted to the men but not in love at that point, so for her to so easily agree to marriage and not be super conflicted about staying or leaving was strange IMO. Finally, I thought the ending conflict was abrupt and Jessica's reaction toward the end was especially irritating. I think the author was going for "feisty" at that moment but I just thought she was petulant and ungrateful. So, in the end I did like the book, but felt there were holes that hurt the story. I would read the next book though.

Reviewed by: SoCalReader (Date: 09/12/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 274 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: The Magic of You (MMF)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



4 Ratings
Avg - 4.75
The Magic of Us (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$4.99
Categories: Fantasy, Historical, Menage a Trois/Quatre

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

A bit cruel for me but was a good book with great characters.

Reviewed by: Jlg29 (Date: 09/08/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 615 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: The Magic of Us (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



6 Ratings
Avg - 4.67
Until Forever (MMF) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$4.99
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

A brilliant book with great characters

Reviewed by: Jlg29 (Date: 08/30/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 615 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Until Forever (MMF)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



11 Ratings
Avg - 4.09
The Trouble with Holly (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$4.99
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Western/Cowboys

This reviewer's rating: 2 - Fair

I really, really liked Book 1 (Foul Play) of this series and decided to pick up this installment. Unfortunately, I was really, REALLY disappointed. Holly started over in Merrick after ending a bad relationship. She is a total klutz, which, you'd think would be sort of cute but it was most definitely NOT. She wasn't just klutzy, she was a walking DISASTER. I think one of the me. Even called her that! By her own admission, she had multiple car wrecks, numerous broken bones, one of which occurred in this story, she trips and falls all over the place.... Honestly it was so over the top it was annoying that she came across as so dumb and/or helpless. Then she did really stupid things like driving off into storms b/c she didn't hear from the men (hello, ever heard of cell phones??). UGH I could not get into her character al all. Then there were Chase & Jarrod. They are supposedly big time Doms at the local BDSM club yet lived with their parents. The author explained the reasoning which I got, but really? It just seemed so unnecessary and unromantic to have have their potential girlfriend living with them and their parents. What a turn off! Finally, the ending/danger---totally thrown in at the last minute. Overall, I feel like this was written more as a comedy than a sexy, dramatic or suspenseful read. I do not want my erotic romance novel to be a comedy. The ONLY saving grace? The glimpse of the new hot, gay doctor in town. He was interesting and hopefully he gets a book of his own---preferably a serious one.

Reviewed by: SoCalReader (Date: 07/10/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 274 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: The Trouble with Holly (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



11 Ratings
Avg - 4.18
The Magic of You (MMF) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$5.5
Categories: Contemporary, Fantasy, Menage a Trois/Quatre

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

A great book

Reviewed by: Jlg29 (Date: 05/04/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 615 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: The Magic of You (MMF)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



11 Ratings
Avg - 4.64
Just a Taste (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$4.99
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

A great book with good characters

Reviewed by: Jlg29 (Date: 04/17/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 615 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Just a Taste (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



11 Ratings
Avg - 4.64
Just a Taste (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$4.99
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre

This reviewer's rating: 3 - Average

All the freaking typos were so frustrating - what happened to Editing???????? ..the storyline was too rushed as well.

Reviewed by: AussieGirl (Date: 04/07/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 311 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Just a Taste (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



19 Ratings
Avg - 3.84
Tracking Ainsley (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$3.99
Categories: Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Paranormal, Shape-shifter

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

Another ripper read!

Reviewed by: Merryll (Date: 03/09/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 5 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Tracking Ainsley (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



6 Ratings
Avg - 4.67
Healing Jean (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$3.99
Categories: Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Paranormal, Shape-shifter

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

A good book

Reviewed by: Jlg29 (Date: 03/01/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 615 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Healing Jean (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



19 Ratings
Avg - 3.84
Tracking Ainsley (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$3.99
Categories: Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Paranormal, Shape-shifter

This reviewer's rating: 3 - Average

An ok read, no real depth to the story or characters though.

Reviewed by: AussieGirl (Date: 01/15/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 311 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Tracking Ainsley (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



19 Ratings
Avg - 3.84
Tracking Ainsley (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$3.99
Categories: Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Paranormal, Shape-shifter

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

Another awesome book!

Reviewed by: rhondavb (Date: 01/03/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 972 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Tracking Ainsley (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



11 Ratings
Avg - 4.09
The Trouble with Holly (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$4.99
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Western/Cowboys

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

Really awesome book!!!

Reviewed by: rhondavb (Date: 01/03/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 972 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: The Trouble with Holly (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



21 Ratings
Avg - 4.29
Foul Play (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$5.5
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Western/Cowboys

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

This was a great book.

Reviewed by: rhondavb (Date: 01/03/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 972 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Foul Play (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



15 Ratings
Avg - 4.47
Fire Me Up (MFMM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$5.5
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Western/Cowboys

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

I really loved this book.

Reviewed by: rhondavb (Date: 01/03/2015)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 972 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Fire Me Up (MFMM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



19 Ratings
Avg - 3.84
Tracking Ainsley (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$3.99
Categories: Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Paranormal, Shape-shifter

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

A great book

Reviewed by: Jlg29 (Date: 12/02/2014)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 615 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Tracking Ainsley (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



11 Ratings
Avg - 4.09
The Trouble with Holly (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$4.99
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Western/Cowboys

This reviewer's rating: 4 - Good

A good book

Reviewed by: Jlg29 (Date: 10/25/2014)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 615 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: The Trouble with Holly (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



15 Ratings
Avg - 4.47
Fire Me Up (MFMM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$5.5
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Western/Cowboys

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

A great follow up book looking forward to the next one

Reviewed by: Jlg29 (Date: 10/14/2014)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 615 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Fire Me Up (MFMM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



21 Ratings
Avg - 4.29
Foul Play (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$5.5
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Western/Cowboys

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

Good characters and story

Reviewed by: Jlg29 (Date: 10/06/2014)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 615 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Foul Play (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



15 Ratings
Avg - 4.47
Fire Me Up (MFMM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$5.5
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Western/Cowboys

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

Loved the first book second is great too

Reviewed by: sina (Date: 09/18/2014)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 3 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Fire Me Up (MFMM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



11 Ratings
Avg - 4.09
The Trouble with Holly (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$4.99
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Western/Cowboys

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

The third book in Merricks, Montana is fantastic!!! Holly is a stereotypical full figured woman who has spent her life dealing with demeaning comments and ridicule because of her curvy figure; so after the ultimate betrayal be her ex, a move to Merricks seemed the logical thing to do. So when Holly meets the Walker brothers early on, she knows she is not the woman for them and that they are just being friendly, even though they consume her every dream and waking thought. After two long years of walking on eggshells and giving her space to protect her shattered spirit, Chase and Jarrod Walker have decided the time has come to claim what is theirs, and Holly is about to discover that drop-dead gorgeous men love a whole lotta woman. But no one ever said that a relationship was meant to be easy, and when it comes to these two dominant brothers and their luscious blonde bombshell, it will certainly never be dull!! Welcome to Merricks, Montana, where ménage is the norm and love and lust are definitely in the air!!!

Reviewed by: kazza16 (Date: 09/01/2014)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 8 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: The Trouble with Holly (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



11 Ratings
Avg - 4.09
The Trouble with Holly (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$4.99
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Western/Cowboys

This reviewer's rating: 3 - Average

The story didn't flow. At first she is told to take her (harsh) punishment or go home & she's like ok - what? What happened to her self doubts etc

Reviewed by: AussieGirl (Date: 08/24/2014)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 311 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: The Trouble with Holly (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



15 Ratings
Avg - 4.47
Fire Me Up (MFMM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$5.5
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Western/Cowboys

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

WOW…..this story is a total contrast to book one. Where Sarah was shy and reserved, her sister Kate is in your face, sassy and at times down right cantankerous!! While Kate does not want to offend sister by mentioning her shock at Sarah’s ménage relationship, she is definitely a one-man woman. But the three men who have Kate in their sights, know just how to tame a wild filly, and are determined to reign her in and conquer her resistance to multiple partners. I must say that one thing that has endeared this series to me, is the author’s description of the heroines. Women that are full bodied, curvy and with jiggly bits, just made my day!!! It’s refreshing that not only does the author acknowledge that we are not all super models, but that this particular heroine is also comfortable with her body image. Well, there are some moments when she is less than confident at having her jiggly bits on display, but her Doms are not about to let her get away with hiding what belongs to them. Again I would say that the men are arrogant, self-assured and often in Dom mode 24/7; but they have also experienced heartache, and when Kate enters their life, what little resistance they have to love, is shattered. This was a wonderful sequel and I’m now anxious for book 3!!!!

Reviewed by: kazza16 (Date: 05/20/2014)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 8 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Fire Me Up (MFMM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



11 Ratings
Avg - 4.18
The Magic of You (MMF) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$5.5
Categories: Contemporary, Fantasy, Menage a Trois/Quatre

This reviewer's rating: 5 - Outstanding

omg...I loved this book. The whole story grabbed me, right from the sister with the dragon (Iwant one!)....keep it up girl xx

Reviewed by: Moofy (Date: 05/18/2014)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 1 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: The Magic of You (MMF)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson



21 Ratings
Avg - 4.29
Foul Play (MFM) by McKinlay Thomson (Published by: Siren-BookStrand, Inc. )
$5.5
Categories: BDSM, Contemporary, Menage a Trois/Quatre, Western/Cowboys

This reviewer's rating: 4 - Good

Good book. I'm looking forward to reading more from this author.

Reviewed by: SoCalReader (Date: 05/16/2014)
Total reviews by this reviewer: 274 See all my reviews


Did you find this review helpful? You must be logged in to vote.

See all MER reviews for this title: Foul Play (MFM)
See all MER reviews for this author: McKinlay Thomson